Continence Aids Payment Scheme

The CAPS is an Australian Government Scheme that provides a payment to assist eligible people who have permanent and severe incontinence to meet some of the costs of their incontinence products. The payment is made by Medicare directly into a client’s nominated bank account.

An applicant is eligible for CAPS if the applicant is five years of age or older and meets one of the following requirements:

  • The applicant has permanent and severe loss of bladder and/or bowel function (incontinence) due directly to an eligible neurological condition.
  • The applicant has permanent and severe loss of bladder and/or bowel function (incontinence) caused by an eligible other condition, provided the applicant has a Centrelink or DVA Pensioner Concession Card entitlement.
  • Applicants with incontinence caused by eligible neurological conditions listed under any of the following categories are eligible for the CAPS. Applicants with an eligible neurological condition do not require a Centrelink or DVA Pensioner Concession Card provided they meet other CAPS eligibility criteria.

Visit to view the Application Form and Guidelines.

Categories of eligible neurological conditions

Category 1

  • Spina Bifida and Syringomyelia.

Category 2

  • Cerebral Palsy.
  • Category 3.
  • Intellectual Disability.
  • Congenital neurological infections.
  • Developmental Delay associated with:
    • Asperger’s Syndrome.
    • Autism.
    • Autism Spectrum Disorder.
    • Down Syndrome.
    • Rare congenital neurological syndromes and conditions.

Category 4

  • Paraplegia and Quadriplegia.

Category 5

  • Acquired Neurological Conditions.
  • Acquired brain injury.
  • Alzheimer’s Disease.
  • Epilepsy.
  • Encephalitis.
  • Lewi Body Disease.
  • Pick’s Disease.
  • Poliomyelitis.
  • Stroke/Cerebrovascular Accident (CVA).

Category 6

  • Degenerative Neurological Disease.
  • Huntington Chorea / Disease.
  • Motor Neurone Disease.
  • Muscular Dystrophy.
  • Multiple Sclerosis.
  • Parkinson’s Disease.

Category 7

  • Bladder Innervation Disorders.
  • Ectopia Vesica.
  • Neurogenic Bladder.
  • Neuropathic Bladder.

Other categories of eligible conditions for CAPS

  • Anal Carcinoma.
  • Anal Fistula.
  • Anorectal Malformation.
  • Anterior Prolapse.
  • Bilateral Nephrostomy Tubes.
  • Bladder Cancer.
  • Bladder Instability.
  • Bladder Muscle Dysfunction.
  • Bladder Neck Dysfunction.
  • Bladder Neck Fibrosis.
  • Bladder Prolapse.
  • Bowel Cancer.
  • Bowel Prolapse.
  • Cervical Cancer.
  • Chronic Urinary Retention.
  • Congenital Epispadias.
  • Detrusor Instability.
  • Detrusor Overactivity.
  • Enterocutaneous Fistula.
  • Faecal Incontinence Post-Colectomy.
  • Hypertonic Bladder.
  • Imperforate Anus.
  • Irradiated Rectum/Radiation Proctitis.
  • Metastatic Ovarian Carcinoma.
  • Post Ileorectal Anastomosis.
  • Post Ileal J Pouch Anastomosis.
  • Posterior Urethral Valve Syndrome.
  • Prostate Cancer.
  • Prostate Disease.
  • Rectal Prolapse.
  • Rectal Ulcer Syndrome.
  • Severe Ulcerative Proctitis.
  • Spastic Bladder.
  • Transurethral Resection of the Prostate (TURP).
  • Urethral Stenosis.
  • Urinary Fistula.
  • Uterine Cancer.
  • Uterine Prolapse.
  • Vaginal Prolapse.
  • Vesico-Vaginal Fistula.
  • Vulva Cancer.